Recommended tours Hai Duong
An Son Temple :
An Son Temple is an ancient temple located on Con Son Island. It was built in 1785 in honour of Lady Phi Yen, wife of Lord Nguyen Anh who later became King Gia Long .
In 1783, Nguyen Anh was defeated by Tay Son. Together with fishermen, Lord Nguyen Anh founded three villages: An Hai, An Hoi, and Co Ong. Nguyen Anh sent Prince Canh followed by Ba Da Loc to France to ask for reinforcements to fight against the Tay Son troops. Lady Phi Yen, the second wife of Nguyen Anh, advised him not to do so. Nguyen Anh got angry with her and thought that his wife might have been dealing with Tay Son troops. He intended to kill her. Just before Tay Son troops attacked the island, Nguyen Anh put his wife in prison and went to sea. Prince Cai, who was then four years old, wanted his mother to come with them. Nguyen Anh got angry and threw his son into the sea. The body of Prince Cai drifted onto Co Ong Beach where it was buried by villagers.
According to the legend, Lady Phi Yen was rescued from the stone prison by a tiger and an ape. She lived with the villagers, taking care of Prince Cai’s grave. After an unfortunate encounter with a man, she killed herself to keep her pride.
The villagers mourned her and built a temple in her honour. In 1861, the French colonialists occupied the island and destroyed the temple. In 1958, the temple was rebuilt on its present location.
Co Island :
To the growing list of places in Viet Nam that claims to have discovered eco-tourism, add the name of Dao Co. It will have to take its chances for the claim along with all the others but certainly they won’t be lessened by its celebrated Island of Storks.
It nestles in Thanh Mien District’s Chi Lang Nam Commune and has been quietly pulling bird-watchers - around 15,000 annually, to an out-of-the way part of Hai Duong Province - since the early 90s.
That’s a modest figure but local tourist officials are hoping to spread its attractions wider without trampling on the very nature that attracts visitors in the first place. Welcome to eco-tourism - welcome to the problem.
Dao Co, one writer enthused "rises like a jewel blessed by nature" in the middle of the 2,832sq.km in Chi Lang Nam. Few ornithologists - those birdwatchers - would disagree. It’s home mainly to a mere nine varieties of storks, Chinese pond herons, jabirus, buff-backed and grey herons, and the grey, blue and black bitterns, stopping off on their way to China, Myanmar, India and Nepal. But don’t forget the common teal, wild ducks, moor hens, the pelicans or the snipes - all faithfully recorded in the Viet Nam’s nature bible, the Red Book.But it’s this time of year that most excites visitors and locals as spring heralds the arrival of tens of thousands of storks. Local experts somehow seem to have deduced that each flock of storks numbers 70, arriving in clusters as night falls to take up residence on their island.
In 1996, the Viet Nam office of the UN Development Program proposed turning Dao Co into an environmental education centre in a two-year, VND549 million project which would see planting of bamboo trees and introducing teaching programs to raise awareness of environmental protection. There are plans to make Dao Co part of an eco-trail starting from Ha Noi, winding through Hien Street to Stork Island and on to Con Son Kiep Bac and Hai Phong, and back to the capital.
Con Son Area :
The Con Son area is located in the village of Cong Hoat, between the two mountain ranges of Phuong Hoang and Ky Lan, about 70 km from Hanoi.
It consists of mountains, a pagoda, tower, pine forest, stream and well-known vestiges relating to national history. During the Tran Dynasty, the Con Son Pagoda was one of three centers of the Buddhist Truc Lam Trinity.
At present, there are cultural remains of the Tran Dynasty and other historical periods, as follows:
Kiep Bac Temple :
Located approximately 80 km from Hanoi and 15 km from Con Son, Kiep Bac is in fact the junction of Van Yen (Kiep village) and Duoc Son (Bac village). It is located in a rich valley surrounded by the Nui Rong Mountains. The surroundings give Kiep Bac a secretive, poetic, and dreamy quality.
In the 13th century, the hideout and residence of national hero Tran Hung Dao, the commander of the Resistance troops in the war against the Nguyen Mong aggressors, were located in this area. A temple was built in the beginning of the 14th century in the centre of Kiep Bac valley. In the temple, bronze statues of Tran Hung Dao, his wife, his two daughters, Pham Ngu Lao, Nam Tao, and Bac Dau, as well as tablets for the cult of his four sons still remain.
Every year, the Kiep Bac Temple Festival is celebrated on the 20th of the 8th lunar month, the anniversary of the death of Tran Hung Dao.